Log in


  • November 15, 2013 9:31 AM | Anonymous

    The THSOA Officer Elections started today (11/15/2013).  An email was sent out to all current members about voting in the election.  In the email you will receive your member number and an access code.  This combination can only be used once.  If you did not receive this email then it can one of three problems:

        Your membership is not current.
        We have a bad email address on file for you.
        The email is in your spam folder.

    If you did not receive the email today, please contact me and we can figure out why.  I can also provide you with the details (member number and access code) needed for you to cast your vote.

    On Monday, 11/18/2013, I will be posting the members whose emails were returned for a bad email address.

  • September 25, 2013 9:32 AM | Anonymous

    Nominations can now be made for the upcoming THSOA elections. We are looking for nominations to fill the following offices for a two-year term:


    Both the person making the nomination and the nominee must be current members of THSOA. The Nominating Committee will contact each nominee to verify they accept the nomination. The officers and trustees of THSOA serve for a two-year term.

    Nominations will be accepted through 15 October 2013. We will then allow nominees to draft a statement that will be placed on the THSOA web site between 15 October and 15 November. If there is more than one nomination for any position, an on-line election will conducted for those positions from 15 November thru 15 December. If there is only one nominee for a position, they will be elected without a vote.

    I hope that all of you will consider stepping forward and helping the Society move forward.

    Best regards,

    Pat Sanders
    Pres. THSOA

  • August 29, 2013 9:33 AM | Anonymous

    NOAA is seeking qualified candidates to apply for up to five voting member vacancies to serve on its Hydrographic Services Review Panel (HSRP) as of January 1, 2014.

    The HSRP is a federal advisory committee that advises the NOAA Administrator on current and emerging oceanographic and marine science technologies relating to operations, research and development; and dissemination of data pertaining to: a) hydrographic surveying; b) shoreline surveying; c) nautical charting; d) water level measurements; e) current measurements; f) geodetic measurements; g) geospatial measurements; h) geomagnetic measurements; and i) other oceanographic/marine related sciences.

    The NOAA Administrator welcomes applications from individuals with expertise in navigation data, products and services; marine cartography and geospatial information systems; geodesy; physical oceanography; coastal resource management; including fisheries management and regional marine planning; and other science-related fields.

    To apply for membership on the Panel, applicants must respond to the requirements listed in the attached federal register notice.

    If you have questions or require further information, please contact Kathy Watson at kathy.watson@noaa.gov.

  • June 21, 2013 9:34 AM | Anonymous

    I am extremely pleased to welcome the return of the Seahorse, now in its electronic form, the eSeahorse. When the education committee polled the membership at the end of 2012, one of the items most requested was the return of the Seahorse. You can download the first edition (Summer 2013) of eSeahorse here.

  • June 20, 2013 9:36 AM | Anonymous

    IHO and USACE Hydrographic Standards
    by Bill Bergen (USACE-Ret) and Pat Sanders (HYPACK)

    Geodesy for the Hydrographer
    by Maxim Van Norden, USM

    Sonar Theory for Single Beam and Multibeam
    by Mike Mutschler, SeaHorse Geomatics

    Seafloor Imagery - Sidescan and Backscatter
    by Harold Orlinsky, HYPACK

    Positioning for Hydrographic Surveys
    by David Dodd, USM

  • April 24, 2013 9:39 AM | Anonymous

    You can find the technical program and published papers from U.S. HYDRO 2013 by going to the Links and References page, or directly at http://www.thsoa.org/hy13.

  • April 22, 2013 9:40 AM | Anonymous

    In late 2012, the Education Committee of THSOA conducted a survey of the membership in order to assist in the development of our long-term education initiatives. The results of the survey were very interesting and we wanted to share them with the membership.

    Our thanks to those of you who participated in the survey.

    View the results here.

  • March 05, 2013 9:42 AM | Anonymous

    In 2012, THSOA inaugurated the THSOA HALL OF FAME. The primary purpose of the hall is to honor hydrographers who have made outstanding contributions to hydrographic science, who have had exemplary survey careers and who have shown dedication to the Society and its goals.

  • February 06, 2013 9:43 AM | Anonymous
    THSOA encourages college/university students to consider a career in hydrographic surveying. Several student scholarships are offered to assist students with academic costs.

  • January 18, 2013 9:44 AM | Anonymous

    THSOA would like to welcome Lou Nash and RDML Chris Andreasen (ret.) to the THSOA Board of Trustees. Doug Lockhart ran unopposed and will continue as the Corporate Secretary. Their two year terms of office began at the start of the new year.

    We would also like to extend our thanks and gratitude to Richard Byrd and John Oswald for their service as trustees. Richard will continue as Chairman of the Finance Committee and John will continue as Chairman of the Scholarship Committee.

    Your current officers and trustees are:
    President:    Pat Sanders    thru Dec 2013
    Secretary:    Doug Lockhart    thru Dec 2014
    Treasurer:    Harold Orlinksy    thru Dec 2013
    Trustee:    Chic Ransone    thru Dec 2013
    Trustee:    Art Kleiner    thru Dec 2013
    Trustee:    Lou Nash    thru Dec 2014
    Trustee:    Chris Andreasen    thru Dec 2014