Log in
  • March 05, 2013 10:42 AM | Deleted user

    In 2012, THSOA inaugurated the THSOA HALL OF FAME. The primary purpose of the hall is to honor hydrographers who have made outstanding contributions to hydrographic science, who have had exemplary survey careers and who have shown dedication to the Society and its goals.

  • February 06, 2013 10:43 AM | Deleted user
    THSOA encourages college/university students to consider a career in hydrographic surveying. Several student scholarships are offered to assist students with academic costs.

  • January 18, 2013 10:44 AM | Deleted user

    THSOA would like to welcome Lou Nash and RDML Chris Andreasen (ret.) to the THSOA Board of Trustees. Doug Lockhart ran unopposed and will continue as the Corporate Secretary. Their two year terms of office began at the start of the new year.

    We would also like to extend our thanks and gratitude to Richard Byrd and John Oswald for their service as trustees. Richard will continue as Chairman of the Finance Committee and John will continue as Chairman of the Scholarship Committee.

    Your current officers and trustees are:
    President:    Pat Sanders    thru Dec 2013
    Secretary:    Doug Lockhart    thru Dec 2014
    Treasurer:    Harold Orlinksy    thru Dec 2013
    Trustee:    Chic Ransone    thru Dec 2013
    Trustee:    Art Kleiner    thru Dec 2013
    Trustee:    Lou Nash    thru Dec 2014
    Trustee:    Chris Andreasen    thru Dec 2014

  • December 11, 2012 10:45 AM | Deleted user

    The U.S. Hydro 2013 Conference, presented by The Hydrographic Society of America, will be held at the Sheraton Hotel in New Orleans, LA, on March 25-28, 2013. U.S. Hydro 2013 is a continuation of the series of hydrographic conferences that alternate between the United States and Canada. This is the fourteenth U.S. Hydrographic conference and follows on the very successful U.S. Hydro 2011, held in Tampa, Florida.

    In addition to the technical papers, the conference will feature an extensive series of Workshops, social program, Exhibition Hall, and a Student Outreach program.

    The conference will include technical sessions and a poster session on the latest developments and applications in hydrographic surveying, multibeam and side scan sonar, data management, electronic charting, marine archaeology, and related topics.

    For more information, please visit the U.S. HYDRO 2013 Website.

  • December 05, 2012 10:47 AM | Deleted user

    In accordance with the Society's by-laws, THSOA will be holding an online vote for two Trustee positions. The Proxy voting will be open from December 3, 2012 until noon December 14, 2012.

    The candidates for the two Trustee positions are Chris Andreasen, Lou Nash, and John Oswald.

    If you are an active member of THSOA you should have received an email with instructions on how to vote. If you have not received this email, please contact the THSOA Membership Committee.

    In the first run of voting, there have been a lot rejected emails. If your name is on the list below, that means we have an invalid email address for you in our database. Please contact us with a new email address.

        Mr. Maxim F. van Norden
        Mr. Jon L. Dasler, PE, PLS
        Mr. Donald Jagoe
        Mr. Robert M. Kennedy, L.S.
        Ms. Kim T. Fairweather
        Mr. John A. Brader
        CDR Donald W. Haines
        Mr. Spencer Collins
        Mr. Jason Creech
        Mr. Mike Nitska
        Ms. Kathleen Schacht
        Mr. Keith Pope
        Mr. Azing Vondeling
        Mr. Michael Meehan
        Ms. Tiffany Green
        Mr. Wesley Sessoms
        Mr. Michael J. Caldwell
        Mr. Eli Zatezalo
        Mr. Donald Lance, PLS

  • December 05, 2012 10:46 AM | Deleted user

    The Hydrographic Society of America is pleased to announce a new program to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to hydrographic science and/or to our society.

  • October 16, 2012 10:48 AM | Deleted user

    The 2012 AGM will be held this Thursday, 18 October 2012, at 4PM EST in the conference room of HYPACK. The address is 56 Bradley St., Middletown, CT 06457. All members are welcome to attend.

    For members who would like to view the meeting and participate remotely, there will be a live web feed available at http://www.thsoa.org/new/?page id=383. Comments and questions may be e-mailed during the meeting to admin@thsoa.org or via Skype chat to “nuzziHypack”.

  • September 26, 2012 10:50 AM | Deleted user

    THSOA encourages college/university students to consider a career in hydrographic surveying. Several student scholarships are offered to assist students with academic costs. The National THSOA scholarships are available to for full time students seeking a 2 year, 4 year or graduate degree in Hydrographic Surveying, Ocean Mapping, Geomatics, Ocean Sciences, Geographic Info Systems(GIS), Ocean Engineering, Electrical Engineering, or other related fields. The national scholarship program started in 2011. There have been 12 awards for a total of $35,000.

  • September 13, 2012 10:51 AM | Deleted user

    The organizers of the UNB-OMG/UNH-CCOM Multibeam Sonar Training Course donated a scholarship to their 61st Training Course to THSOA. Forty two members of THSOA expressed an interest in the scholarship and were entered into the drawing. On 12 Sept, 2012, a blind drawing was held and the scholarship was awarded to Matthew Gardner. THSOA would like to express our thanks to the organizers of the Multibeam Sonar Training Course for their generous donation.

    The 61st UNB-OMG/UNH-CCOM Multibeam Sonar Training Course will be held from 7 Jan 2013 thru 12 Jan 2013 at The Westin New Orleans Canal Palace Hotel in New Orleans, LA. Details concerning the course and an application can be found at http://www.omg.unb.ca/mbc/MBC61Info_v6_form_distributed.pdf

  • September 04, 2012 10:51 AM | Deleted user

    Please download the following document for details of the NSPS/THSOA Hydrographer Certification Program.