Log in
  • April 22, 2014 10:28 AM | Deleted user
    U.S. HYDRO 2015, presented by The Hydrographic Society of America, will be held at the Gaylord Hotel in National Harbor, MD, on March 16-19, 2015. U.S. HYDRO 2015 is a continuation of the series of hydrographic meetings that alternate between the United States and Canada. This is the fifteenth U.S. Hydrographic meeting and follows on the very successful U.S. HYDRO 2013, held in New Orleans, LA.

    In addition to the technical papers, the event will feature an extensive series of Workshops, social program, Exhibition Hall, and a Student Outreach program.

    The event will include technical sessions and a poster session on the latest developments and applications in hydrographic surveying, multibeam and side scan sonar, data management, electronic charting, marine archaeology, and related topics.

    For more information, please visit the U.S. HYDRO 2015 Website
  • December 23, 2013 10:18 AM | Deleted user

    The Hydrographic Society of America’s annual election was completed on 15 December 2013. In this year’s election, there were to candidates for the Presidency and three candidates for the two open Trustee positions. Harold Orlinsky, the current Treasurer of THSOA was unopposed and will serve another two year term.

    Paul Cooper: 131
    Wendy Post: 103

    Trustee (Two positions):
    Art Kleiner: 155
    Castle “Gene” Parker: 129
    Chic Ransone: 114

    Paul Cooper (CARIS) will take the reins as the President of THSOA on 1 Jan 2014. He will join Harold Orlinsky (Treasurer) and Doug Lockhart (Secretary) as the officers of THSOA. The Board of Trustees will include existing Trustees RADM Chris Andreasen (ret) and Lou Nash (Measutronics). Art Kleiner will begin another two-year term as a Trustee and Castle “Gene” Parker (NOAA) will join the board for his first term.

    All of us would like to thank Chic Ransone for his many years of service to the THSOA Board. His many years of experience in the hydrographic industry have been a valuable asset to the Society. He has served THSOA for many years and his service is greatly appreciated.

  • November 18, 2013 10:30 AM | Deleted user

    With sending the current request for voting in the Officer Elections the following members either had a bad email address or no email address at all.  If you see this, or somebody who knows one of these members sees this, please have them contact me with their updated information.

    The members are:

        Mr. Milton Rutstein
        Mr. Isagani Almacen
        Mr. John A. Brader
        Mr. Douglas C. Moore
        Mr. Brian Heap
        Mr. Rob Morris
        Mr. Thomas N. Blakely
        Mr. Timothy Kearns
        Mr. Keith Pope
        Mr. Ken Grantham
        CAPT John D. Cousins, USN (Ret)
        Mr. Tim Basinger
        Mr. Michael Meehan
        Mr. Steven Posey
        Mr. Brandon Bowie
        Mr. John C. Haas III
        Mr. Brian Anderson
        Mr. Haseeb Rafeek
        Mr. Wesley Sessoms
        Mr. Donald Lance, PLS
        Mr. Eli Zatezalo
        Jr. Michael J. Caldwell
        Ms. Taylor M. Intaphan
        Mr. Manuel Montes
        Mr. Héctor Yamil Rodríguez Asilis
        Mr. Jeffrey L. Fouch
        Mrs. Starla D. Robinson

  • November 15, 2013 10:31 AM | Deleted user

    The THSOA Officer Elections started today (11/15/2013).  An email was sent out to all current members about voting in the election.  In the email you will receive your member number and an access code.  This combination can only be used once.  If you did not receive this email then it can one of three problems:

        Your membership is not current.
        We have a bad email address on file for you.
        The email is in your spam folder.

    If you did not receive the email today, please contact me and we can figure out why.  I can also provide you with the details (member number and access code) needed for you to cast your vote.

    On Monday, 11/18/2013, I will be posting the members whose emails were returned for a bad email address.

  • September 25, 2013 10:32 AM | Deleted user

    Nominations can now be made for the upcoming THSOA elections. We are looking for nominations to fill the following offices for a two-year term:


    Both the person making the nomination and the nominee must be current members of THSOA. The Nominating Committee will contact each nominee to verify they accept the nomination. The officers and trustees of THSOA serve for a two-year term.

    Nominations will be accepted through 15 October 2013. We will then allow nominees to draft a statement that will be placed on the THSOA web site between 15 October and 15 November. If there is more than one nomination for any position, an on-line election will conducted for those positions from 15 November thru 15 December. If there is only one nominee for a position, they will be elected without a vote.

    I hope that all of you will consider stepping forward and helping the Society move forward.

    Best regards,

    Pat Sanders
    Pres. THSOA

  • August 29, 2013 10:33 AM | Deleted user

    NOAA is seeking qualified candidates to apply for up to five voting member vacancies to serve on its Hydrographic Services Review Panel (HSRP) as of January 1, 2014.

    The HSRP is a federal advisory committee that advises the NOAA Administrator on current and emerging oceanographic and marine science technologies relating to operations, research and development; and dissemination of data pertaining to: a) hydrographic surveying; b) shoreline surveying; c) nautical charting; d) water level measurements; e) current measurements; f) geodetic measurements; g) geospatial measurements; h) geomagnetic measurements; and i) other oceanographic/marine related sciences.

    The NOAA Administrator welcomes applications from individuals with expertise in navigation data, products and services; marine cartography and geospatial information systems; geodesy; physical oceanography; coastal resource management; including fisheries management and regional marine planning; and other science-related fields.

    To apply for membership on the Panel, applicants must respond to the requirements listed in the attached federal register notice.

    If you have questions or require further information, please contact Kathy Watson at kathy.watson@noaa.gov.

  • June 21, 2013 10:34 AM | Deleted user

    I am extremely pleased to welcome the return of the Seahorse, now in its electronic form, the eSeahorse. When the education committee polled the membership at the end of 2012, one of the items most requested was the return of the Seahorse. You can download the first edition (Summer 2013) of eSeahorse here.

  • June 20, 2013 10:36 AM | Deleted user

    IHO and USACE Hydrographic Standards
    by Bill Bergen (USACE-Ret) and Pat Sanders (HYPACK)

    Geodesy for the Hydrographer
    by Maxim Van Norden, USM

    Sonar Theory for Single Beam and Multibeam
    by Mike Mutschler, SeaHorse Geomatics

    Seafloor Imagery - Sidescan and Backscatter
    by Harold Orlinsky, HYPACK

    Positioning for Hydrographic Surveys
    by David Dodd, USM

  • April 24, 2013 10:39 AM | Deleted user

    You can find the technical program and published papers from U.S. HYDRO 2013 by going to the Links and References page, or directly at http://www.thsoa.org/hy13.

  • April 22, 2013 10:40 AM | Deleted user

    In late 2012, the Education Committee of THSOA conducted a survey of the membership in order to assist in the development of our long-term education initiatives. The results of the survey were very interesting and we wanted to share them with the membership.

    Our thanks to those of you who participated in the survey.

    View the results here.