Log in

Online: Houston Chapter February Technical Talk - 10:30AM (CST)

  • February 09, 2021
  • 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM
  • Online - Register for Teams Link

Registration is closed

The Hydrographic Society of America-Houston Chapter's February Technical Meeting

The Hydrographic Society of America - Houston Chapter's February Technical Meeting

Time: 10:30AM CST (11:30 EST) (16:30 GMT)

Location: Online - Register for meeting link

Speaker - Dr. Leslie Sautter - College of Charleston

Title:  The BEAMS Program – College of Charleston’s Undergraduate Program in Seafloor Mapping

Additional Info: Since 2007, nearly 200 undergraduate students have taken courses geared towards initial training in seafloor mapping.  The BEAMS Program has grown from a single course to four courses and a planned field program, which seek to engage and inspire the new generation of hydrographers.  

More than 100 “BEAMers” – nearly half of whom are women – have entered the hydrographic workforce or gone to graduate programs in which they utilize and develop their hydrographic skills. This talk will introduce the program and some of its accomplishments along with its projected future.

About the Speaker: Dr. Leslie "Doc" Sautter has taught Marine Geology at the College of Charleston for nearly 30 years. She specializes in developing/implementing programs to engage students in actual research programs (BEAMS, Transects, GUSTO), all of which include at-sea field experience. She began the BEAMS program and has served as its director. Nearly all of these geology and marine biology majors students have had the chance to go to sea as well as the opportunity to present at either a US Hydro or Ocean Sciences meeting.